“Go Have an Experience”

Having a chronic illness keeps us away from so many experiences for so many good reasons. There is the extra-ordinary hard of doing ordinary things on a bad day (putting on socks, making tea, sitting up), but then there is also the ordinary hard of doing things that make us feel alive on a not-so-bad day. I’ve had a string of better days over the past few weeks and have needed to push myself to soak them all in. It has felt harder than I would have expected. In fact, I have needed a refrain, “Go Have an Experience!”
 
Yesterday I was taking the ferry from Nanaimo to Horseshoe Bay after a long but rewarding day and I was tempted to just stay in the car with my wife and my little hound. I had my yoga mat. I knew that an evening practice out on the deck facing the water and sunset would be freaking magical. But I still hung back. It felt overwhelming and a little intimidating. I knew it would shift things for me and even good shifts can take some extra energy.
 
I had to tell myself to “Go Have an Experience!” And it was so perfect it was unbelievable. It was the kind of thing I will remember on the harder days when I need to hang onto what “better” feels like. 
What is your capacity today? What would make you feel more alive? Is it possible to “Go Have an Experience?”
13995449_10154001054342515_8122407835895351065_o
2 thoughts on ““Go Have an Experience”

  1. Thank you for writing this. I am struggling between my capacity to keep up, and findng the joy in the world, with the lawyer (hired to pursue my financial interests when my company re-negged on a promised disability payment plan) insisting that I only sit and breathe, and not embrace the possibility of joy through new experiences.

    I’m so glad you followed through on your impulse.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

